Orangeyes Daily Articles for Friday - for Football | Syracusefan.com

Orangeyes Daily Articles for Friday for Football

sutomcat

No recent Cali or Iggy awards; Mr Irrelevant
ACC News

Pitt Football Going Back to Basics (triblive.com; DiPaola)

After nearly a week of spring drills, three themes are emerging around the Pitt football team:

• Energy — Everyone moves fast, reflecting the personality of coach Pat Narduzzi.

• Competition — That's the nature of the game; practice must mirror it.

• Discomfort — After a 6-7 season, anyone resting comfortably needs to wake up.

Even All-American running back James Conner said, “My mindset is like I'm a freshman again, trying to prove a point to everybody, earn respect from my teammates, earn respect from my coaches and stay grounded.”

Conner, of course, has a spot reserved for him. After rushing for 1,765 yards last season, he and wide receiver Tyler Boyd are Pitt's best hopes for contending for an ACC Coastal Division championship.

The other positions are not so clear-cut.

There are jobs to win throughout the defense, two openings on the offensive line and one at wide receiver.

Potential 2015 ACC Cinderellas (espn; Fortuna)

The Big Dance as we know it kicks off Thursday, marking the time of the year when Cinderellas from different regions of the country win us all over, bust our brackets and watch their NCAA tournament dreams become reality.

Naturally, we're turning our attention to the gridiron here, as we take a look at a few ACC players and teams capable of having Cinderella seasons themselves if things break right in 2015. You can even argue that Georgia Tech just had a Cinderella season, going 11-3 and winning the ACC Coastal division and the Capital One Orange Bowl, this after being picked as the preseason No. 5 team in its own division.

i