SEC moving to 9 conference games? Should ACC follow suit? | Syracusefan.com

SEC moving to 9 conference games? Should ACC follow suit?

chakka3421

All Conference
During commentary in Miami-Florida games, they mentioned SEC will probably go to 9 conference games with new SEC network and follow other major conferences like B1G doing same.

Should ACC follow suit? I'm not a scheduling expert, but I think I would prefer that so that we play other teams on a more regular basis. I wonder how it would look with 9 game conference schedule?

Weren't we supposed to have a 9 game conference schedule until FSU and Clemson complained?

6 games against the Atlantic. Pitt every year. 2 crossover games.

We'd play Miami and Va Tech once every 3 years (instead of once every 6).

I think it was Clemson and FSU who didn't want the 9 conference games. To me 9 makes the most sense. Better balance to the schedules, better to establish rivalries more big conference games. Three OOC games seems like enough to me.

I'd like to see 9 games. Meeting VT, or Miami once every 6 years doesn't even give you the feel of being in the same conference. I would welcome a 9 game schedule.

If I'm not mistaken they were going to go to 9 games until Notre Dame came into the conference and agreed to play 5 games a year with the football members.So some teams will already be playing 9 games when they play Notre Dame.

F ND - forgot about them and they are about the only team I despise more than NC State!

If I'm not mistaken they were going to go to 9 games until Notre Dame came into the conference and agreed to play 5 games a year with the football members.So some teams will already be playing 9 games when they play Notre Dame.

I believe you are right about the timing. ACC teams will only being playing eight conference games even if ND on the schedule. Don't forget, ND is "special" and doesn't have to be truly part of the conference.