Thoughts about next year. | Page 2 | Syracusefan.com

Thoughts about next year.

It's a given that next year's team won't provide the suffocating defense of this year's group, and playing DC more will shift the emphasis to offense for next year's team. That's not a bad thing, with SU joining the ACC, because the refs won't condone rough play. A Coleman-Fair-Grant set will rebound effectively and outlet for fast breaks. A Kieta-Fair-Grant set will still be Block City if interior defense is a need. I'm not counting Rak in the mix because his availability is being questioned. However, tilting toward offense means someone has to start shooting reliably among the Cooney-Ennis-Gbinije group or else Fair will be our only outside weapon. I'm assuming, for conversation's sake, that that will happen. If so, we should enjoy the results.-VBOF

What are you hearing, Tom?

I've been hearing it from lots of people around town for a couple months now, for what it's worth.

Working off of Tom's roster,

CJ and Grant are going to be monsters next year. CJ's outside shot is already there, nearly 47% and look for Grant to attack the lane like he did this year, get high percentage shots. Add in DC2 getting more touches, we can really open up looks for the guards. That said, I am hopeful of Ennis and Mike G, but I am not sure they will penetrate as much as MCW and Triche. I hope I am wrong.

One of Patterson, Cooney and BJ must step up and contribute. It's asking a lot for the younger guys, but they are here for a reason. But for Trevor, he has to knock down shots and I think he will. If not, we will have two freshmen playing meaningful minutes at guard come March.

I think Roberson gets a decent amount of run as he will be able to do a lot of things at both forward positions both offensively and defensively.

I have a question, and I'm guessing it's too early to tell.
If Rak is gone, does Chino still redshirt? Our centers like to foul, or at least that's how the refs would have it. ;)