Update: Winningest Programs since 2009 | Syracusefan.com

Update: Winningest Programs since 2009

moqui

generational talent
I have been keeping track of this for several years now. Since the 2008-09 season that began SU's renaissance, the Orange have been one of the most consistently successful teams in the nation. They came into this season 3rd in win total over that period, trailing Kansas by 9 and Duke by 5. That gap has narrowed considerably through the early part of this season - picking up 5 games on Kansas and 3 games on Duke. If the Orange keep winning and get a little help from elsewhere, it would be awesome to tie or pass Duke by beating them in the Dome.

Below are the top 35 teams over the past 5+ seasons in terms of total wins (winning percentage is a little different from total wins, but not much, and does not effect SU's standing in the pecking order).

NOTE: number 11 on this list is Michigan State, not Michigan as shown. The numbers are correct but "State" was left off the name. Thanks to Raleigh for pointing that out.

8tyx.jpg

Last edited:
I like the total wins better than percentage because it also points to post season tourney success. Gotta win to keep playing and winning.

I like the total wins better than percentage because it also points to post season tourney success. Gotta win to keep playing and winning.
yep . . . if SU was to win a national title this year, that might be enough to pass both Duke and Kansas. As the winningest overall team, with a title and a second Final Four appearance (plus an Elite 8 and two other Sweet 16s), that would give us the nod as best program in the nation over a 6 year period.

Might not make Syracuse a "blue blood" from a long term historical perspective, but it's a damn fine start.

And Duke and Kansas had the benefit of not being in the Big East which had 10 or more NCAA tournament teams and 3 to 5 top ten teams year in and year out.