ESPN Megacast - Hokies Trophy Case reference | Syracusefan.com

ESPN Megacast - Hokies Trophy Case reference

CuyahogaCuse

2nd String
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
865
Like
1,526
image-1771542951.jpg
Apparently still empty, even in make-believe

Megacast Details
 
Last edited:

SU2NASA

All American
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
6,948
Like
8,539
View attachment 6252 Apparently still empty, even in make-believe

Megacast Details

How can you have a 34-20 OT score?

SU scores first in OT and goes for 2 to make it 28-20 and then picks off VT and returns it for a TD.

That's the only way I can think of since if they returned a pick or fumble for a TD to end the game there would not be an extra point.
 

TDTOrange

Starter
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
1,300
Like
1,833
Someone's gotta say it...

How the hell did we get ranked #22?!?!?!?

WE'RE BACK BABY!
 

BlazeOrange

Starter
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Messages
1,720
Like
1,534
How can you have a 34-20 OT score?

SU scores first in OT and goes for 2 to make it 28-20 and then picks off VT and returns it for a TD.

That's the only way I can think of since if they returned a pick or fumble for a TD to end the game there would not be an extra point.
That's right. And the defensive player who scored the touchdown would get reamed out for not taking a knee and ending the game immediately, instead risking getting the ball stripped and allowing the offensive team a chance to tie it up again.

OT Rules Question: If this scenario happened in overtime (offensive team throws interception, then strips ball from the defensive player that is returning it), would they maintain possession and be allowed to run more plays, continuing their drive from wherever they recovered the ball? Or would the temporary change of possession end their drive, such that they would have had to score on the same play that the ball went back and forth?
 

Pyle

All Conference
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
3,226
Like
5,021
OT Rules Question: If this scenario happened in overtime (offensive team throws interception, then strips ball from the defensive player that is returning it), would they maintain possession and be allowed to run more plays, continuing their drive from wherever they recovered the ball? Or would the temporary change of possession end their drive, such that they would have had to score on the same play that the ball went back and forth?

whoa-mind-blown.jpg
 

Frozen

2019 Cali Winner (Interceptions)
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
8,398
Like
20,280
That scenario happened. I want to say it was about 1996 or 97. Air Force vs. ND. I forget who won, but in OT, one team scored to go up 7. Then the other team had the ball and threw a pick six. So the team won by 13 in OT. You do not get to kick the PAT this case.

EDIT: I may be wrong on the teams, but I did see this happen once.
 

orange79

Internet Sleuth
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
37,367
Like
106,067
That scenario happened. I want to say it was about 1996 or 97. Air Force vs. ND. I forget who won, but in OT, one team scored to go up 7. Then the other team had the ball and threw a pick six. So the team won by 13 in OT. You do not get to kick the PAT this case.

EDIT: I may be wrong on the teams, but I did see this happen once.
Or, to get to a 14 point margin, the team on offense first scores a TD and a 2-point conversion. Then the pick-6 makes it 14.
 

DeGrozz

All American
Joined
Aug 24, 2011
Messages
4,230
Like
8,061
How has no one brought up that VPI is #1 and so is FSU?
 

CuyahogaCuse

2nd String
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
865
Like
1,526
DeGrozz said:
How has no one brought up that VPI is #1 and so is FSU?

Was wondering when everyone would pick up on all these details.

ACC must have been stacked to have FSU and VaTech as co-number ones, plus us at 22. :)

Cuse is 1-0 in the Megacast virtual world.
 

SU2NASA

All American
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
6,948
Like
8,539
That's right. And the defensive player who scored the touchdown would get reamed out for not taking a knee and ending the game immediately, instead risking getting the ball stripped and allowing the offensive team a chance to tie it up again.

OT Rules Question: If this scenario happened in overtime (offensive team throws interception, then strips ball from the defensive player that is returning it), would they maintain possession and be allowed to run more plays, continuing their drive from wherever they recovered the ball? Or would the temporary change of possession end their drive, such that they would have had to score on the same play that the ball went back and forth?

Yes, they would maintain possession. The possession for the offense ends when the opponent has possession at the end of the play.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
160,490
Messages
4,341,639
Members
5,639
Latest member
GoldyGopher

Online statistics

Members online
52
Guests online
373
Total visitors
425




Top Bottom