The Day Calvin Dropped 68 on Syracuse | Syracusefan.com

The Day Calvin Dropped 68 on Syracuse

Remembering Murphy's 68-point game, 50 years later

Good read. For Mr Cheriehoop maybe. Murphy was a great one.

I was a freshman at SU when Calvin was a freshman at Niagara and in those days there was a freshman team. That year my fraternity brother Frank Hamblen guarded Calvin when they played at Manley and he always bragged that his most memorable moment at a SU as a basketball player was when he held Calvin to 52 points. Bob Kouwe and John Suder were also fraternity brothers and Hambone would tease them that he was a better defender than they were.

Remembering Murphy's 68-point game, 50 years later

Good read. For Mr Cheriehoop maybe. Murphy was a great one.

Murphy was unbelievable especially considering his minute size- he was an amazing dunker too. Watching him play when I was a young teenager was unforgettable. His pregame show was a showstopper before the show (game) even started. He was a National baton twirling champion as an 8th grader and did an act before Niagara games with baton ends on fire. Wish they had videos from Niagara’s pregame show that he put on. Couldn’t find any videos from Dennis Duval’s pregame shows at SU either.

Back in my high school days - the Little 3 (Niagara, Bonaventure and Canisius) rivalry competitions were huge. St Bonaventure was led by the huge, talented Bob Lanier vs the magic that tiny talented Calvin Murphy created at Niagara. Bob Lanier even came to our end of year sports banquet in high school as a speaker with his infamous size 22 sneakers.

Nice but sure wish they had college videos when he was still competing at baton championships. This was when he was playing in the NBA at Houston 7 years after his last public performance.

I was there. Thanks for the memories. Not.

Bill Smith’s great game that night (around 40 points) was overshadowed by Murphy and his 68 points.