Orangeyes Daily Articles for Thursday - for Football | Syracusefan.com

Orangeyes Daily Articles for Thursday for Football

sutomcat

No recent Cali or Iggy awards; Mr Irrelevant
SU News

17052688-mmmain.jpg

SU OL Sean Hickey Sees Justin Pugh as Role Model (nj.com; Powell)

NFL prospects at the Scouting Combine are looking for any edge they can get to keep their head from spinning and impress the teams that want to meet with them. For Syracuse offensive lineman Sean Hickey, leaning on hisformer college teammate Justin Pugh for advice helped him prepare for the week to come.

Hickey, a fifth-year senior, won third team All-ACC honors in 2014, helping to anchor an offensive line that had its fair share of injuries. Hickey is a tackle by trade, and told reporters at the Combine on Wednesday that he's comfortable on both the left and right side.

In fact, when Pugh, now the Giants' right tackle went down with an injury during his junior year, it was Hickey who stepped in at left tackle and held the fort for the Orange. Hickey went as far to say that he modeled his game by watching Pugh, especially in pass protection.

"[Pugh's] a real big influential player for me, especially early on in my career, how I kind of set up my pass blocking game was around him, his pass sets [were] one of the best pass sets that I've seen to this day in college football," Hickey said. "Very smooth, very clean, and I tried to model myself, when I was a young age, after his pass set and the way that he played the game and I thought that helped me in my career, he was a very big part of my career."

ACC News

BC Wants to Emphasize Pass Game This Spring (espn.com; Adelson)

Before Steve Addazio arrived at Boston College, the Eagles went through a revolving door of offensive coordinators.