How to Fix SU Football? | Syracusefan.com

How to Fix SU Football?

Dr. Bill

Scout Team
The Fire Dino Chants are getting louder. Fans are questioning the head coach, the coordinators, etc, etc. and asking the question how can we fix SU Football. I have been a Cuse Fan before I was a student
there in the late 70"s- early 80's. I have seen bad SU football, the Maloney years, and I have seen good
Football, the Mac/ Coach P years. Here is my take on SU Football:
In this new climate that we find ourselves in, ACC football( We have to recruit against warm weather schools) and NIL, it will be very difficult for SU to become a top tier program again without a large,
consistent influx of CASH!!!! We do not have the money to compete on the stage that we desire to play on. Just look at the most recent events at Colorado. Colorado hires a coach and at the press conference, the AD says we signed our coach to a 29 Million dollar contract and right now, we don't have the money
to pay him, but I am not worried, we will get it. By the time the season started, Donors had contributed 29
Million! I was at the North Carolina game this past weekend and had the opportunity meet with some big money donors. The money at UNC Chapel Hill that supports the athletic program , is at another level that we can only dream of. The bottom line, is that Syracuse Football will remain a lower tier program, regardless of who our coach is, until we get a huge, consistent increase in funding. That is real talk that many of us don't want to hear. "Show Me The Money"!

Last edited:
I think you’re spot on with this take and I’m not sure how we can solve this.

My SU fandom goes back to Jim Brown years as a kid.