Pearl story | Syracusefan.com

Pearl story

syrcuse

Walk On
I was a 20 yr old graduate from SUNTY Canton. My mother was very sick and dying. So, I decided to finish my BS degree locally and help with my mom. She was very religious and NEVER spoke badly about anyone. Well when I came home, I made her watch SU BB with me. She knew nothing about the sport. However, she soon fell in love with PEarl AND HATED EWIG. Yes, she called him EWIG not Ewing. Soon she was in the hospital. I took every clock we had and taped Pearl's face on each one. When she woke up from surgery, the Pearl brought a smile to her face. I will never forget rubbing my mom's head and doing spin moves around her and saying "The Pearl". She and I loved what the Pearl brought to the Cuse. I will never forget the joy and excitement he brought to our home when things were rough. GOD BLESS THE PEARL!! I still keep the "Donate Blood" Poster with Pearl in my office. He's shooting over Ewig and Reggie Williams is on his back. PERARL WAS DA BEST!!!

lets keep the Pearl stories going...

I was at the 2003 final 4 as a 17 yr old. Get in the elevator at the hotel and its me and Pearl heading down to the lobby. Im star struck - and he must know it. He gives me the head nod and I muster out "whats up pearl?" get to chat with him for 20 seconds. Seemed like a lifetime. Awesome.

I was born in 85 - so i never "saw" him play. But I was born with a Syracuse stuffed basketball in my my crib (was in my sons as well FYI) and Pearl and Sherm and DC were all LEGENDS in my book the same way Jim Brown, Floyd LIttle, and Ernie Davis were - if not a little bit more becuase they were more recent. God Speed Pearl.

lets keep the Pearl stories going...