Syracuse area solar | Syracusefan.com

Syracuse area solar

Capt. Tuttle

Living Legend
A. Anybody gone there
B. Any do's , don't s or referrals

Plan right now is to put panels on our garage and run our pool and set up charging station in garage as my next car will likely be electric. Also should help resale down the road.

Last edited:
A. Anybody gone there
B. Any do's , don't s or referrals

Plan right now is to put panels on our garage and ruin our pool and set up charging station in garage as my next car will likely be electric. Also should help resale down the road.
I have no knowledge or experience here.

However, I know there is a thread on this over at the Boneyard. Tom E has done it.

I have no knowledge or experience here.

However, I know there is a thread on this over at the Boneyard. Tom E has done it.

Thanks Tom. Not sure I am ready to go full electric, but maybe. My D-I-L's father did it years ago and did not hook back into the grid. (San Diego makes it easier to buy in to having enough sun)

being on a campus means lots of people who wanted to go this direction.. of the dozen i know who have done the solar thing, most had decent luck with it.. after 10-15 yrs they broke even. The ones who went with the more stationary ones had better luck. Less things to break I guess. if you have the proper sun exposure it helps. Some people went the install in the ground way because it limits issues on the roof and if the roof was really built to handle the extra load in the first place. Leaking has been a minor issue but a few ran into issues once it was time to swap the next roof out depending how the install was done and the style of panels used. Panels are getting more efficient though