BIGGER QUESTION: | Syracusefan.com

BIGGER QUESTION:

Nothing to penalize us for. We don't know what really did or didn't happen.

I'm not an expert, but didn't the university do an investigation, and then not forward that information to the police? Could that be construed as some sort of coverup, which is what got Penn State in hot water? I'm just wondering?

I'm not an expert, but didn't the university do an investigation, and then not forward that information to the police? Could that be construed as some sort of coverup, which is what got Penn State in hot water? I'm just wondering?
The fact SU did an investigation shows there was no attempt to cover this up. THe investigation was just poorly done.

coverup for what? what happened?

And so said all the PSU supporters. I realize that the cases are about as different as night and day, but once you set the precedent of the NCAA acting as the morality police you've got us on the precipice of a slippery slope that lots and lots of people would like to push us over.

You mean re-report it to the police. Since Davis had told SU that it had already reported it to the police (which it had) and they said it was beyond the statute of limitations - wouldn't the issue really be that they didn't double check Davis' statement with the police that it had already been reported?

The fact SU did an investigation shows there was no attempt to cover this up. THe investigation was just poorly done.

Can't agree with you there. A poorly-conducted/botched/hamfisted/eyes closed 'investigation' is precisely the best way to cover something up, if you're certain allegations have/will be made. I'm not asserting there was any conspiracy or malfeasance on the part of the SU folks, but saying you checked things out and didn't find anything when you really don't want to find anything isn't really proof of anything. And, since the investigation didn't reveal as much as we know now, shouldn't we be critical of the 'effort?'