florida vs USC | Syracusefan.com

florida vs USC

edowd26

Hall of Fame
Gamecocks getting punched in the dink. Florida is a bit scary.

Said it last week, I'll say it again; Florida is the best team in America right now.

I still find it odd that Frank the Tank would leave Manhattan to go to South Carolina.

Maybe, but this game tonight is not confirmation of that. SC is a terrible, terrible team.
Has SU ever played a Big East team in the past 30 years that has put up under 40? I mean 36 pts?

I know I'm not an expert and all but just trying to figure out this whole Florida thing. Educate me, I know they played and beat badly a Mizzou team with a coach having some serious allegations against him the following day, they blew out Marquette and mighty FSU. Just trying to wrap my head around this Florida thing.

I know I don't follow much College hoops but just trying to figure out this whole Florida thing. Educate me, I know they played and beat badly a Mizzou team with a coach having some serious allegations against him the following day, they blew out Marquette and mighty FSU. Just trying to wrap my head around this Florida thing.

I would point to a few things:
1. They are ranked #1 in defense and #2 in offense according to KenPom. So they are not a one trick pony and can stay in games when one area is weak.
2. They are absolutely throttling teams. Only 2 games (albeit both losses) have been under 13 points! FSU, Mizzou, Marquette, Wisconsin, and MTSU may not be murderer's row, but the way they've done it is impressive.
3. They have strength at every position. 3 capable guards, 2 of which are seniors (Boynton/Rosario) and 1 junior. A stretch 4 in Murphy (6-10 and shoots 47% from 3). A solid MCD AA in Patrick Young at center.
4. Back to back final 8s, so perhaps there's some extra motivation to take the next step.
5. Donovan has a pretty decent track record.

I
I would point to a few things: