Grantland: Rules of College Football Fandom | Syracusefan.com

Grantland: Rules of College Football Fandom

“I’m a fan of a school where I got my graduate degree.”
Hmm. I’m going to need some more information. Like, what happened to yourundergraduate school? Your connection with your alma mater can’t just be severed. You can’t get a BA from Purdue and then “upgrade” when you attend Wisconsin Law — or, worse, root for both teams. (If you find yourself in the Boilermaker-in-Madison scenario, maintain your Purdue fandom and try to blend in, like Brad Pitt’s guys pretending to be German in Inglourious Basterds.)
Now, as a grad student, you may be eligible for my 1-AA exception. If your undergrad degree is from a school in the Football Championship Subdivision (the old 1-AA) and now you’re attending a school in the Football Bowl Subdivision (the old D-1), then it’s OK to change teams. Once.

I understand it being difficult to root for two teams in the same conference, but he does not address whether rooting for your undergrad and grad school would be acceptable if they were in separate conferences. This is one of the big reasons I did not want SU in the Big Ten, divided loyalties. It is not "changing teams," it is adding team. Of course, this has created at least three double fandom moments (basketball included), which are challenging.

I understand it being difficult to root for two teams in the same conference, but he does not address whether rooting for your undergrad and grad school would be acceptable if they were in separate conferences. This is one of the big reasons I did not want SU in the Big Ten, divided loyalties. It is not "changing teams," it is adding team. Of course, this has created at least three double fandom moments (basketball included), which are challenging.