How do you beat this team? | Syracusefan.com

How do you beat this team?

twinight

Scout Team
I certainly don't think this team is unbeatable, but they've won a lot of games playing not-great basketball.

I wrote in another thread yesterday that if I was an opposing coach I wouldn't watch their recent games and think, "They look vulnerable!" I would watch them and think, "Oh sh--, this team wins against good teams even when they're playing poorly."

So how would you gameplan against SU?

And if your answer is: "Slow down the game. Play tough defense. Outrebound them." Realize that that strategy is now about 0 for 15. And yes, I realize there are games we could have lost, but we didn't. Maybe that actually is the best way to beat us. But if the best way to beat us is currently 0-15 that's actually pretty good news.

So far the only proven strategy is to have our starting center flipping through flashcards and making dioramas instead of on the basketball court. But even that strategy is only 1 for 3.

I wouldn't be surprised if some computer simulation showed that you had a better chance winning against us if you kept the tempo up. Maybe if USF hadn't decided to hold onto the ball for 30 seconds before shooting they would have been up 35-10 after 10 minutes, rather than 20-7 or whatever it was. I don't know.

-Take care of the basketball by not turning it over
-Make shots
-Dictate tempo (Note; I'm not a believer that you HAVE to slow it down. But you have to mix it up, run when you can, and slow it down a lot.

Take it right at Fab. Even if he gets early blocks. Go right at him. Get him 2 quick fouls. then 3. Make him sit the bench. Then have a field day vs. Keita down low

IMHO, it will take three things - one of which nobody has yet to do against us: