Question about Diaco | Syracusefan.com

Question about Diaco

bradrayle

Walk On
I love the idea of hiring Diaco but have one question?
I believe that ND and Diaco runs a 3-4 defense how would that translate to our players and how long would it take to adapt?

I think we've mixed it up a bit regarding 4-3 and 3-4 depending on situations but I could be wrong.

Honestly, am I the only one who thinks that, given our lack of overall size on defense, a 3-4 might not be bad for us?

I will grant you that I am by no means an expert on defensive schemes, as I'm more of a basketball guy and simply a football fan, and never played football myself, but it seems to me that 3-4 tends to have a lot of "tweener" types who end up rushing from the edge (guys like Mario Williams and DeMarcus Ware in the NFL, and a position that seems like it would have been good for a guy like Brandon Sharpe at SU).

Please correct me, people who know the X's and O's of football better than I do, this is merely my perception that, again, is based on never having played organized football in my life.

Honestly, am I the only one who thinks that, given our lack of overall size on defense, a 3-4 might not be bad for us?

I will grant you that I am by no means an expert on defensive schemes, as I'm more of a basketball guy and simply a football fan, and never played football myself, but it seems to me that 3-4 tends to have a lot of "tweener" types who end up rushing from the edge (guys like Mario Williams and DeMarcus Ware in the NFL, and a position that seems like it would have been good for a guy like Brandon Sharpe at SU).

Please correct me, people who know the X's and O's of football better than I do, this is merely my perception that, again, is based on never having played organized football in my life.