RIP Willie Mays | Syracusefan.com

RIP Willie Mays

IMG_0705.jpeg

He was just winding down his career when I got getting into baseball, so I never saw him play in his prime.

But I remembering staring at the stats on his baseball card in wonder. What an amazing player.

RIP Willie.

If the Giants had stayed in NY, he would have broken Ruth's record before Aaron did. The wind in Candlestick Park knocked down a lot of what would have been HRs. :(

Here he is in one of his favorite activities in Harlem.

He was just winding down his career when I got getting into baseball, so I never saw him play in his prime.

But I remembering staring at the stats on his baseball card in wonder. What an amazing player.

RIP Willie.

I saw him play when I was a kid - three game series at Shea when he played for the Mets at the end of his career. Even as a kid, I studied baseball and knew he was one of the all-time greats. I consider myself lucky to have seen him play in person.

RIP.