Saw Battle play last night | Syracusefan.com

Saw Battle play last night

subarney

Walk On
Battle plays for St. Joe's of Metuchen, NJ. Strong sports school that has produced several NBA players over the years. Battle's teammate will play for Ole Miss next year (Tyree). First thing that jumped out with me is his size. Has a similar build to Gbinije. 6'7 probably 200 /210 pounds. Battle didn't bring the ball up much, pretty much played the wing. Started out game hitting a 3. I don't think he has a very smooth shot (like Richardson) but I'm no expert. Liked his defense. Quick hands and moves well. Gets his body in position allot. Offensivelly I'm not sure he is true point guard. Though he did pass the ball fairly well. Has some jump to him. He finished with 17, 6 rebounds, 5 assists, 3 steals. As cuse guy said, we need finishers at the point. Not sure Battle is that but a solid player in the mode of Gbinije...

Not worried about finishers I think Howard may be the best finisher on this current team right now, just needs to get up to the speed of the game you can tell hes a small step behind.

I really really really am looking forward to next year so much. Alot of proven talent, and the ability to take second third options and move them to 4th on off nights.

He's a combo guard with size. I think we'll see a lot of that at PG for us going forward.

I don't expect a ton from him right away on the offensive end of the court. I think his incredible value is going to come on the defensive end. We might have the longest zone in Syracuse history next year.

Brooky03 said:
He's a combo guard with size. I think we'll see a lot of that at PG for us going forward. I don't expect a ton from him right away on the offensive end of the court. I think his incredible value is going to come on the defensive end. We might have the longest zone in Syracuse history next year.