Sports Illustrated Swipes Photo of Woman in Her Underwear | Syracusefan.com

Sports Illustrated Swipes Photo of Woman in Her Underwear

I'm no expert in regards to copyrights, but if I post a picture i took(or obtained, that wasnt copyrighted), do I automatically have a copyright on it? Something tells me this is not the case.

I liked the rest of your post though, especially the lesson at the end. There's at least one more lesson as well. Most anything you do in public is able to be shown to the world. I don't doubt this is the first time someone has had to take off their gear at a game for whatever reason, but it looks like it is SU fans are the first ones I've noticed who made it go viral. Then again I stopped following most media, so I could have missed a lot.

I wonder if traffic and registrations have picked up with all the free advertising?

I'm no expert in regards to copyrights, but if I post a picture i took(or obtained, that wasnt copyrighted), do I automatically have a copyright on it? Something tells me this is not the case.

I liked the rest of your post though, especially the lesson at the end. There's at least one more lesson as well. Most anything you do in public is able to be shown to the world. I don't doubt this is the first time someone has had to take off their gear at a game for whatever reason, but it looks like it is SU fans are the first ones I've noticed who made it go viral. Then again I stopped following most media, so I could have missed a lot.

I wonder if traffic and registrations have picked up with all the free advertising?
The VERY general rule is that person who records something in "a tangible medium of expression" (such as a photograph) holds the copyright. There are complications and limitations, of course, but that's the simplest statement of the law.

This girl is famous now.Maybe she can parlay that into appearances on Jerry Springer and Oprah. Maybe even Today. Next thing you know, she'll be a sideline reporter for ESPN.