tax implications of the Howard deal | Syracusefan.com

tax implications of the Howard deal

moqui

generational talent
John Hollinger reports that the Lakers payroll now sits at $99 million and will go up when they re-sign either Matt Barnes or Devin Ebanks.

the luxury tax level is $70M, so that is $29M in lux tax the Lakers will pay this year

but, next year, it really kills them. Under the new CBA, the tax amount goes up the more you are over the tax line, plus their is a kicker for repeat offenders that takes it even higher. I'm not a cap expert, but my back of the envelope calculations are staggering. As the Lakers will be a repeater, their taxes will be

$2.50 on the dollar for the first $5M ($12.5)
$2.75 for the next $5m ($13.75)
$3.50 for the next $5M ($17.5)
$4.50 for everything over $15M (14 @ $4.5 = $63)
That is a grand total tax bill of $106.75 million

I might be wrong but I believe this money gets split among all of the teams in the league. That's great but it's never going to stop the rich kids from overspending. Unfortunately there is no realistic solution that all of the teams would ever agree to. Same as in Baseball.

I don't think the repeater rate kicks in until 2015, so I'm gonna guess with Kobe and Gasol coming off the books that year, they may bring the salary down a bit.

Also, the tax will probably go up a bit between now in 2015, probably not a lot, but maybe a few million.

But in 2014 there is still the graduated rate, $1.5 up to $5 million, $1.75 to 10 million, $2.5 to 15 million, $3.25 to 20 million, and then 3.75 afterwards, with it going up 50 cents for evert $5 million after that.

So say they are $29 million over:
$7.5 million on the first 5
$8.75 million on the next 5
$12.5 million on the next 5
$16.25 million on the 5 up to $20 million
$18.75 million on 20-25
and then $17 million on the 4 million from 25-29

That's still $80 million, which is pretty ridiculous.