Tourney Chances after FSU loss | Syracusefan.com

Tourney Chances after FSU loss

swish7

All Conference
I'm no expert on this stuff, but it does not seems like we have many chances for quality wins. We have quite a few chances for wins. Looking at the teams whom have inferior records to our current record, and we could easily get to 19 wins. However, not sure what is a quality win outside of NC, and given they drummed us by 40, not much of a chance of that win.

But, if we beat all the teams with worse records than us, and split the rest (big if), and get one in the ACC, that has to be good enough, no? 23-10? Or, is this bubble time?
  • NC State 13-6
  • @ Boston College 11-8
  • @ Wake Forest 13-6
  • Louisville 6-13
  • Clemson 13-5
  • 3 North Carolina 16-3
  • @ Georgia Tech 9-10
  • @ NC State 13-6
  • Notre Dame 7-12
  • Virginia Tech 12-7
  • @ Louisville 6-13
  • @ Clemson 13-5

12-8 in conference and we're sweating but probably get in

I would not be too comfortable sitting at 21 wins
I am just the messenger. TO be clear, 21 wins includes the expected wins (Louisville x2, Notre Dame at Home, NC State at home, and VT at home) Plus wins over -- when going by % chances -- Ga Tech Away, BC Away, and Clemson at home. Does that = a tourney bid? Probably not, but you take a blended average of all the games outstanding and assume that 21 wins would mathematically require a good win to offset any bad losses and you have potential makings of a resume. Does that mean its going to happen? Probably not as team rankings gives Syracuse a 14% chance to win 21+ games, but if it does there is, again mathematically, significant potential.

Team rankings had Syracuse go from 70% to 50%. Magic number for them is 21 which gives Syracuse a 95% chance
The Chaminade win doesn't count toward tourney consideration. No D2 games count.

If we lose tomorrow, I feel like this may be another season where we have to win the ACCT to make the tournament.