We need another Guard ... badly | Syracusefan.com

We need another Guard ... badly

I'm ready to try the Dirty or Grant at the 2 experiment.

If I was an opposing coach and SU played Southerland or Grant at the 2, I would slap on the most relentless full court press the world has ever seen.

We have what we have. Grant and southerland are not guards.

how about a free throw shootincoachg
Needed one of those since the mid-eighties! Keeps it exciting...

If I was an opposing coach and SU played Southerland or Grant at the 2, I would slap on the most relentless full court press the world has ever seen.

One player doesn't make a team immune from the press. A good team can break and take advantage of a press without even dribbling.

Actually, IMO Southerland is a guard trapped in a forwards body. He is guard without a great handle. He would play the 2 in the league if he gets there.

Today he had a great assist to Fair that was worthy of a guard.

Honestly the guard's were the least of our worries today...

Precisely. Better play out of our current guards would be nice (as in 9 t/o's today from the 3 of 'em) but there isn't "another guard" in the picture unless you're banking on the tooth fairy.

You must have missed Brandon's 2 jr. High passes out front that gave up two layups. Brandon looked anything like a senior today. His head is once again a total mess. He acts like a little child when he should be playing like a man after starting for four years.He appears to be totally lost on the floor. He decides what he's going to do before the play instead of playing instinctively.

Thought that Cooney played really well, what's the problem? I think that MCW and Triche had mediocre games, that has to improve...

if you think we are struggling at guard this year wait until next year when Brendan and MCW are gone and we have only one point; Tyler Ennis.