Orangeyes Daily Articles for Wednesday - for Football | Syracusefan.com

Orangeyes Daily Articles for Wednesday for Football

sutomcat

No recent Cali or Iggy awards; Mr Irrelevant
SU News

17105326-standard.jpg

17105341-standard.jpg

First Spring Practice for SU Football (Photos; PS; Greenlar)

Quarterback Terrel Hunt goes through offensive drills. Syracuse University football first day of spring practice, Ensley Athletic Center, Feb. 24. 2015. Michael Greenlar| mgreenlar@syracuse.com

17101287-mmmain.jpg

College Football Doesn't Allow 'Student-Athletes' Chance to Maximize Education (PS; Poliquin)

I am a student at Syracuse University who is very interested in collegiate sports (and may pursue some facet of them as a career), and I absolutely loved your article, "Get rid of spring football; the game will be just fine in the fall."

I have been doing a bit of research and analyzing the college football system here at SU. I am friends with several of the players on the team and they are constantly telling me how they cannot take certain classes, enroll in certain majors, participate in certain extracurriculars, and so much more because of the limitations placed on them by the football program.

I am disappointed with the design of the football program because it can hinder the student-athletes (or, rather, the indentured servants) from excelling in academics and from engaging in the overall college experience.

Several players wanted to take classes that were either of interest or a requirement towards their degrees. However, they were told they could not, by any means, enroll because the class time interfered with spring prac
tice.

ACC Football

hi-res-92b3c91233b1d67cd629e209ca7aff96_crop_north.jpg

Projecting Every Starting QB for the 2015 Season (BR; Smith)

The ACC featured one of the top quarterbacks in the country over the last two seasons in Jameis Winston, but 2015 is a season where the conference has quite a few question marks.