Quick observations from yesterday's game | Syracusefan.com

Quick observations from yesterday's game

RF2044

Living Legend
Exciting win--we've been due, given how well we've played against some of the better teams on our schedule without quite being able to get over the hump. Here are a few quick observations from yesterday's game--some good, some bad:

• Rak bounced back: What else needs to be said? 9-10 from the field, 11-13 from the stripe, 4 blocks, 27 points. Wow. He looked like a pro big last night, toying with rookies.

• Our baseline perimeter defense sucks: We've been "down" all year when it comes to defending the three, largely due to our personnel being out of position to get out and challenge shots. But specifically, we seem incapable of defending baseline threes. Our biggest hole is on the "left" side of the zone, Roberson's side. It seems like every game guys are wide open there and shoot it like money. If I was a coach, I'd pick up on that tendency and get a shooter in that spot all game long.

• Cooney had an awful game: Flat out awful. And unlike most games, he had a bunch of wide open looks--he just couldn't connect. Brutal shooting performance, but luckily he dialed it back toward the end and let Gbinije / Rak take over.