Everyone works hard | Syracusefan.com

Everyone works hard

It's easy to be ignorant about this. I became interested in college football simply because I was an undergrad and grad student at an ACC school and it was hard not to get caught up in the hoopla but otherwise would have no interest in athletics - to be successful in technical work fields is like entering a tunnel and ignoring everything else. When I began to notice athletics outside of football, I became aware of NCAA restrictions on meals, hearing that UConn point guard on their 2014 team talking about going to bed hungry, and later being struck by a similar quote from a female T & F athlete at ND: "we are always hungry". That makes sense given the amount of physical exertion you see in the video. Taking the human body as a machine, it takes energy to operate and the more effort the more energy in the form of food Calories that is needed. At least the NCAA loosened up their rules in the recent past I have heard - really a restriction on food intake makes no scientific sense.