La. Tech Observations... | Syracusefan.com

La. Tech Observations...

Hoov50

Starter
On Sunday my father and I had the chance to watch the SU-La. Tech game from CTO’s courtside seats. My father and I had an awesome time and can’t thank her enough!

I am by no means a basketball expert, although I do believe I understand the game better than numerous announcers, but who doesn’t?! However, I did want to share some of my observations from sitting so close that you don’t get when watching at home or my normal third level seats.

To a man our players seem to be completely unsure what they should be doing with the ball. Kaleb Joseph, is a capable ball handler, but to look into his eyes when he is coming up court is to see uncertainty. It seems like he has no idea who is going to be where and isn’t sure what to do with the ball. This is not unique to Joseph, each player seems to second guess themselves multiple times before finally throwing a pass. The one exception was Cooney for a ten minute stretch from about 13 minutes to the 3 minute mark in the second half. During that stretch Cooney decided he was going to take matters into his own hands and take the ball to the hoop. With only a few exceptions Cooney taking the ball to the hoop ended with something positive for SU. I was kind of surprised that Joseph became the ball handler on the last possession when Cooney had been doing a pretty good job.

Another thing I noticed is that Christmas and to a lesser extent Cooney are the only ones who communicate at all while on the court. Christmas was constantly communicating while on defense helping out the wing defenders, when McCullough played the middle he didn’t say a word, even when Christmas was yelling “Chris, talk!” from the bench. Cooney also communicates but more one to one in between plays than yelling during play. The only time I head Joseph say a word was when Tyler Roberson was late shifting on defense and Kaleb yelled, “Roberson get up here!”