OT: Need Suggestons on driving Syr to Brooklyn | Syracusefan.com

OT: Need Suggestons on driving Syr to Brooklyn

All American
Also posted on Football board...

Ok, my daughter is moving to Brooklyn (Jefferson Ave). I have zero experience driving in NYC and will likely be driving a small U-Haul.

Google suggests 81 to PA to NJ, Holland tunnel, thru lower Manhattan and over to Brooklyn.

Is there a better or "easier" route from Syracuse?? I'd like to avoid driving through Manhattan if possible.

Thank you in advance to anyone who cares to comment/offer suggestions.

Brian

Lived in the area all my life, know Queens, Brooklyn, Manhattan very well. For this kind of trip and especially if you have no experience driving in Manhattan, do not go the Holland Tunnel route!

It depends on where in Brooklyn, but you do not want to drive in lower Manhattan if you can avoid it. So, try to see if you can go via the Verrazano and Belt Parkway, etc. BQE is another way, but again, just not through lower Manhattan. It's congested down there and sort of confusing where, if you miss a turn, you're cooked in bumper to bumper, traffic lights back up far in that area. Very hard to get back to where you were supposed to go.

I'm guessing your best bet would be Verrazano bridge even if it's a bit out of the way.

You can also take Rte. 81 to Route 17 to Rte. 87 South. Take Rte. 87 the whole way down to NYC and use the RFK/Triboro Bridge to Queens, then the Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE---Rte. 278. You will have to take follow the "truck route" for about a mile at the end of the RFK/Triboro Bridge to get to the BQE (Follow signs to Rte. 278

Last edited:
You can also take Rte. 81 to Route 17 to Rte. 87 South. Take Rte. 87 the whole way down to NYC and use the RFK/Triboro Bridge to Queens, then the Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE---Rte. 278. You will have to take follow the "truck route" for about a mile at the end of the RFK/Triboro Bridge to get to the BQE (Follow signs to Rte. 278