Bizarre yes, controversial no.
ESPN with their "controversial call ends game 3" headline is just plain wrong.
It was a blatantly correct call. A tough one, but obvious.
by rule you could argue contact. the runner can also not be the one to initiate contact to cause obstruction.. how far away does the fielder have to be away ? there is no set rule. players get tangled all the time with no calls of obstruction. you could also argue that the fielder was not in the baseline and that the runner created a new baseline that was not a direct route since he ran from the 2nd base side of 3rd base and that cause the contact. he certainly got up and never touched 3rd when he stepped back off the bag..The rule seemed to be written for that exact play:
Rule 2.00 (Obstruction) Comment: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered in the act of fielding a ball. It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball. After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, he can no longer be in the act of fielding the ball. For example: If an infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes him and he continues to lie on the ground and delays the progress of the runner, he very likely has obstructed the runner.
Oddly, it was 28 years to the day after umpire Don Denkinger blew a call at first base that cost the Cardinals the 1985 World Series against the Royals.
sure call the obstruction.. he gets third base..
by rule you could argue contact. the runner can also not be the one to initiate contact to cause obstruction.. how far away does the fielder have to be away ? there is no set rule. players get tangled all the time with no calls of obstruction. you could also argue that the fielder was not in the baseline and that the runner created a new baseline that was not a direct route since he ran from the 2nd base side of 3rd base and that cause the contact. he certainly got up and never touched 3rd when he stepped back off the bag..
by rule you could argue contact. the runner can also not be the one to initiate contact to cause obstruction.. how far away does the fielder have to be away ? there is no set rule. players get tangled all the time with no calls of obstruction. you could also argue that the fielder was not in the baseline and that the runner created a new baseline that was not a direct route since he ran from the 2nd base side of 3rd base and that cause the contact. he certainly got up and never touched 3rd when he stepped back off the bag..
by rule you could argue contact. the runner can also not be the one to initiate contact to cause obstruction.. how far away does the fielder have to be away ? there is no set rule. players get tangled all the time with no calls of obstruction. you could also argue that the fielder was not in the baseline and that the runner created a new baseline that was not a direct route since he ran from the 2nd base side of 3rd base and that cause the contact. he certainly got up and never touched 3rd when he stepped back off the bag..
Easy call.Bizarre yes, controversial no.
ESPN with their "controversial call ends game 3" headline is just plain wrong.
It was a blatantly correct call. A tough one, but obvious.
Yes I am very happy Cards won too. It was bizarre indeed. What a way to win or lose. Had Craig not tripped he would have been safe which was a key to the call they said. Cards blew enough chances in that game. Almost did it again in the 9th.
once the player establishes third base he then creates his baseline to home. by stepping back to 2nd he now needs to retouch third.. the replay shows the 3rd basemen out of the intended baseline. the runner cant redirect to a new line that puts a fielder in his way. you see it all the time in run downs with runners trying to reach out and touch fielders and change their baselines, contact does not mean obstruction.. how far away does ,middlebrook have to be.. what he fell 10 ft away and craig runs back and trip over him..
If Middlebrooks did not raise his legs (twice?), he would have had a better chance of avoiding the call.once the player establishes third base he then creates his baseline to home. by stepping back to 2nd he now needs to retouch third.. the replay shows the 3rd basemen out of the intended baseline. the runner cant redirect to a new line that puts a fielder in his way. you see it all the time in run downs with runners trying to reach out and touch fielders and change their baselines, contact does not mean obstruction.. how far away does ,middlebrook have to be.. what he fell 10 ft away and craig runs back and trip over him..
Actually, the call was made the minute he tripped so the fact he was out at the plate was irrelevant. They made the right call according to the rule.
the home plate ump made the wrong call.. he ruled the runner safe, he should have ruled the runner out then the obstruction call gets ruled.. what if the 3rd base ump makes the call that the runner gets awarded 3rd not home..
the home plate ump made the wrong call.. he ruled the runner safe, he should have ruled the runner out then the obstruction call gets ruled.. what if the 3rd base ump makes the call that the runner gets awarded 3rd not home..