pack it in? | Syracusefan.com

pack it in?

B

BillSU

The comments below do not sound like someone who is going to pack it in. If my friend JB retires anytime soon I’ll be very surprised. Hop has a big problem managing the rotation of this group. If JB were there we would not have the record we do IMO.

"I'm not a fan, I'm a coach," Boeheim said, when asked whether he'd consider watching the games in public. "I wouldn't want to sit and watch with anyone else. It's a very painful experience, and I don't feel like sharing my painful experiences with anybody. And I don't think anyone would want to be around me. This is my life, my professional life. It's obviously a very difficult time."

"It's not fun watching your team not play well, and you can't do anything about it," Boeheim said. "We knew this team needed a lot of nurturing. It's not a set team in any way, shape or form. We have a lot of moving parts, have guys who have been very inconsistent. It's tough to watch that and not be able to do something about it. It is what it is but it's a very painful experience, I certainly wouldn't want to share that with anyone else."

Boeheim praised Mike Gbinije during his radio appearance in addition to freshman Tyler Lydon, who the coach said "has been as good as we could hope." Boeheim also praised Trevor Cooney's defense.

The head coach said Syracuse's 3-point defense needs to improve, but he believes its biggest issue in losses has been its 3-point shooting. When the
Orange has hit for a high percentage, the team has won. When it hasn't, Syracuse has lost.

I have this idea that the completely external view of the team JB gets during this suspension may actually prove very valuable to the team long term. I have read that he doesn't watch film after games. Whether that is true or not, this experience is still vastly different. He may come back with kinds of unique perspectives on how to improve the team that he has not thought of before.