Project Rudy | Syracusefan.com

Project Rudy

Ugh, private capital. Not surprised that people on the outside are looking to pounce.

Ugh, private capital. Not surprised that people on the outside are looking to pounce.
People on the outside have been pouncing for decades. That's how college sports ended up where they are. Too late to put the pin back in the grenade.

What do we care as long as nobody is left out?
I'm no expert but my understanding of private equity is that by design their playbook is to maximize profits without regard to the actual product, not good for consumers.

Just off the top of my head I would fear jacked up network prices and seat increases. Again, I'm not an expert on this but it's what I fear from what I have heard.

Did we know this:

And then, last Friday, two university presidents (West Virginia and Syracuse) authored an open letter in the Chronicle of Higher Education urging their presidential colleagues to take action to avoid the Big Ten and SEC merging into a “36-school super league.”

In an interesting wrinkle, Yahoo Sports obtained a copy of the original letter. It was signed by six university presidents. Four of the presidents removed their signatures before publication, most notably one each from the SEC and Big Ten.

Did we know this:

And then, last Friday, two university presidents (West Virginia and Syracuse) authored an open letter in the Chronicle of Higher Education urging their presidential colleagues to take action to avoid the Big Ten and SEC merging into a “36-school super league.”

In an interesting wrinkle, Yahoo Sports obtained a copy of the original letter. It was signed by six university presidents. Four of the presidents removed their signatures before publication, most notably one each from the SEC and Big Ten.
Wildhack is on the ball, that is obvious. He is definitely working to ensure we don't get left behind.

Did we know this:

Probably Northwestern and Vanderbilt.