Rivalry in Intercollegiate Athletics | Syracusefan.com

Rivalry in Intercollegiate Athletics

Cody Havard

Walk On
Hello All,

I am a professor studying rivalry in intercollegiate athletics. In particular, we are interested in gauging fan perceptions of rival teams. Thank you to everyone who participated in the project. The survey is now closed. Completing the survey will help give us a better picture of rivalry at the intercollegiate level.

If you are interested in seeing results from the project, please do not hesitate to contact me at chavard@memphis.edu.

Thanks everyone, much appreciated.

Last edited:
Good survey I said Boston College and Pittsburgh.
thats really the only answer.

the ped st nambla lions really dont qualify anymore.

and the Orange were the nail to their hammer in that rivalry anywho.

thats really the only answer.

the ped st nambla lions really dont qualify anymore.

and the Orange were the nail to their hammer in that rivalry anywho.

It would be cool if the Pitt game could get more legs, it's our longest running. But neither fan base really cares all that much. Neither gets good attendance in their home game for it, and neither fan base travels to the other.

People have waffled about how much interest there is for BC. For me there is plenty. And there is certainly more interest than Pitt. At least on the football side.

Pitt and Syracuse have just never been very good at the same time. Which is probably a whole separate analysis of the northeast talent pool.

BC is our rival in football. The ACC has recognized it. SU fans should embrace it as well. Have fun with it. Go to Boston and join the giant orange showing that has so often taken over that stadium.

It would be cool if the Pitt game could get more legs, it's our longest running. But neither fan base really cares all that much. Neither gets good attendance in their home game for it, and neither fan base travels to the other.