throwback play | Syracusefan.com
.

throwback play

upperdeck

Living Legend
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
32,270
Like
34,976
I know its minor. And the grand scheme of things kinda dumb to use a trick play in a blow out when you might need it later in the season,

But its an illegal formation. 4 in the backfield, a WR and a TE and no one is covering the Tackle which makes in eligible.

Doesnt matter if its a pass or a lateral at that point.


formation.jpg
 
They have 6 linemen and a WR on the LOS.
no 5 lineman and 87 the TE is on the line. if the WR is on the line then its illegal for covering an elligible player if he is off the line its 5 in the backfield.

Running the WR in motion makes the play wrong. Honestly you line him up to cover the tackle and then he runs the normal cross and the DB is covering him in man anyway.

the WR has to be on the line if that was a 6th OL guy but cant be on the line since its a TE thus the guy cant go in motion.
 
Last edited:
no 5 lineman and 87 the TE is on the line. if the WR is on the line then its illegal for covering an elligible player if he is off the line its 5 in the backfield.

Running the WR in motion makes the play wrong. Honestly you line him up to cover the tackle and then he runs the normal cross and the DB is covering him in man anyway.

the WR has to be on the line if that was a 6th OL guy but cant be on the line since its a TE thus the guy cant go in motion.

It isn't illegal to cover an eligible receiver as long as that guy doesn't go out for a pass. You can have 10 on the LOS if you really wanted to.

If the T reported then it is a legal play. Is your premise really that the T did not report and the ref wasn't paying attention when there was not an eligible WR on the right side of the LOS? Most refs are sticklers where they will throw a flag when the WR is on the LOS but does not check with them. But this guy had no issue seeing no WR and just the T?
 
It’s close. Does the head of the right tackle circled above touch the waistline of the center? I guess but it’s certainly close.
Should I ask why his head would be grazing his waistline or should I let chip take this one?
 
It isn't illegal to cover an eligible receiver as long as that guy doesn't go out for a pass. You can have 10 on the LOS if you really wanted to.

If the T reported then it is a legal play. Is your premise really that the T did not report and the ref wasn't paying attention when there was not an eligible WR on the right side of the LOS? Most refs are sticklers where they will throw a flag when the WR is on the LOS but does not check with them. But this guy had no issue seeing no WR and just the T?
No, he did not report. you can see as they come out of the timeout run on the field and the camera is right over the players. Actually, walks out and right past the ref as they go line up.

Yes, the rule in college is different than the pros. in Pros you have to announce the reverse as well as being eligible. So, in college you could throw a TE in and cover him up.
 
No, he did not report. you can see as they come out of the timeout run on the field and the camera is right over the players. Actually, walks out and right past the ref as they go line up.

Yes, the rule in college is different than the pros. in Pros you have to announce the reverse as well as being eligible. So, in college you could throw a TE in and cover him up.
We deserve it. Not a single trick play all year... other than two flea flickers. Better teams use them... but not us? Meanwhile... 6 straight games without a 20+ TD drive in the first half...
 
We deserve it. Not a single trick play all year... other than two flea flickers. Better teams use them... but not us? Meanwhile... 6 straight games without a 20+ TD drive in the first half...
Completely agree totally deserve it. Stinky teams do stinky things
 

Forum statistics

Threads
175,058
Messages
5,201,513
Members
6,165
Latest member
Nnelg

Online statistics

Members online
208
Guests online
2,912
Total visitors
3,120


...
Top Bottom