UCLA QB Josh Rosen: Football, school 'don't go together' | Syracusefan.com

UCLA QB Josh Rosen: Football, school 'don't go together'

Yeah, I get it, but until someone puts in a farm system similar to baseball or basketball, what's he going to do? No one is forcing him to play. Sounds like he could do pretty well outside of football.

Yeah, I get it, but until someone puts in a farm system similar to baseball or basketball, what's he going to do? No one is forcing him to play. Sounds like he could do pretty well outside of football.
The problem is that no one is telling you how hard it's going to be, that juggling act of two full time jobs, when they're recruiting you.

The problem is that no one is telling you how hard it's going to be, that juggling act of two full time jobs, when they're recruiting you.

I wonder if I should have had the same complaint working 40 hours a week at a restaurant (at minimum wage) and taking a full slate of courses, sometimes more as I graduated in 4 years with a Bachelor's and Associate's degree.

I wonder if I should have had the same complaint working 40 hours a week at a restaurant (at minimum wage) and taking a full slate of courses, sometimes more as I graduated in 4 years with a Bachelor's and Associate's degree.

These discussions never go well when people bring their anecdotal experiences into them. I mean this sincerely when I say: good for you. That's not the point though.

He's asking if the goal of college athletics should be to find the proper balance between education and on-field performance, or to merely keep players eligible in service of the latter. I think what Rosen said was appropriate and reasonable.

This would be a good argument ... if more than like 2% of NCAA players made the NFL.

By the way I am pro - college athletes making money. It's also all very simple.