Which will be missed more by Syracuse fans | Syracusefan.com

Which will be missed more by Syracuse fans

You'll get a range of answers here. I'm a Connecticut resident who grew up watching the Huskies, and I have dozens of friends who are current students at or recent graduates of UConn, but I still think the Georgetown rivalry is the tops.

There is no hate like hate for GTown!

The Gtown rivalry isn't going anywhere. The UConn rivalry is the one we are losing, so that is the one I'll miss more.

We'll still be playing Gtown once a year, which is something that I am sure happened a few times in the last dozen or so years anyways. It may not count in the conference standings anymore, but that's not what this rivalry is really about at this point anyways, Craig Esherick made sure of that.

I think you may find the answer will depend on in which decade you fell in love with the Orange. For those of us who harken back to the Manley Dome ending and JT's infamous line, G'town will forever and always be the most hated team, bar none. Fans who have joined later may have more distaste for UConn. Both rivalries will be sorely missed when we go ACC. I'm not a fan of the ACC and especially don't like Dook at all but I'm not seeing the intensity of the emnity between them and us ever reaching the depth of feeling rooted in either of these BE rivalries.

Since the big east formed gtown was always our biggest rival

IMO, this is a generational thing. For me, based upon my age, clearly G'Town. UConn, undoubtedly, is up there, but doesn't have as deeply seeded roots like G'Town.

When I think about the Uconn rivalry I think about a major rival on the court. When I think about Georgetown I think about on and off the court and just pure hatred of the opposition. I presume our rivalry with Gtown will continue on similar to the Louisville- UK rivalry.