1977 NCAA tournament Syracuse vs. Tennessee | Syracusefan.com

1977 NCAA tournament Syracuse vs. Tennessee

Fun stuff, the year I graduated Brockport high school. Bouie is from Kendall, just up the road from there.

Also, was it customary in 1977 for players on the opposing team to console guys when they fouled out? Can't say I've ever seen this before.

Louie and Bouie vs. Ernie and Bernie.

Awesome find on Syracuse history. Young Jim Boeheim. Rick Pitino is seated like to JB.

Dick Enberg and Billy Packer on the call.

That video doesn't include the last minute of the game or OT.

What a find Alsacs. Brilliant. SU playing man, UT playing zone! JB's first season as head coach and still playing Roy's loose, fast, style.

Unfortunately missing the OT ending, which we won 93-88. Larry Kelley leading scorer with 22. Got blown out next round (S16) by Charlotte and Cedric "Cornbread" Maxwell.

That video doesn't include the last minute of the game or OT.
Yeah but its a fascinating watch. It was hard to find game footage of the 1977 team. I had never seen that team play before that.

Old school Cool. Two-man referee system, no shot clock, no 3 point line, hot pants and even an Angela Davis afro! Notice on the free throws, the lead ref passes it to the trail ref who hands it to the shooter. Today the lead official bounces it to the shooter. And Louis Orr at 6-8, 165? Holy buggy whip, Batman!

Also, was it customary in 1977 for players on the opposing team to console guys when they fouled out? Can't say I've ever seen this before.
Yeah...used to be this silly thing I think was called sportsmanship.
Didn't keep the players from going at it any harder (as this game demonstrates).

But somehow it got replaced by "attitude."
And some people seem to think taunting and showing hostility towards opponents is essential to playing hard and winning.