2020 Commencement on the Quad | Page 2 | Syracusefan.com

2020 Commencement on the Quad

what did SU do before the dome?

I graduated in 1973 and graduation was in Manley. Each graduate was limited to three tickets.

what did SU do before the dome?

I graduated in 1973 and graduation was in Manley. Each graduate was limited to three tickets.
My husbands' was in Manley. I was out on the quad. We did it by schools only.

most places when they get pushed indoors uses tickets to lower attendance. Other places go to separate events for colleges
The good weather location for UVa's commencement is on The Lawn. It's first come-first served admission there. If there is inclement weather, then it gets moved into JPJ and only ticket holders are allowed in and the ceremony is broadcast to various auditoriums around The Grounds. The schools and and Arts & Sciences departments then go to various locations for their own ceremonies. What are the biggest class auditoriums at SU?

Syracuse University’s 2020 Commencement will be held at the Manley Field House in case of severe weather.

The university officially announced on Sept. 19 that Commencement will be held on the Quad to accommodate for renovations to the Carrier Dome. If the ceremony is required to move indoors due to weather, transportation will be provided from Main Campus to Manley, a multi-purpose arena near SU’s South Campus.

Commencement 2020 would be split into two separate ceremonies if moved to Manley, one with five schools at 9:30 a.m. and the second with seven schools at 1 p.m on Sunday, May 10.

“The ceremonies would be identical with the exception of only recognizing those schools and colleges in attendance,” according to SU’s Commencement 2020 website.

Syracuse University’s 2020 Commencement will be held at the Manley Field House in case of severe weather.