Come Back to SU? | Syracusefan.com

Come Back to SU?

HakAttack

Shirt World Hater, Script Jersey Lover.
I know this is completely OT, but I'd like to get the board's thought on this...

I received my undergrad degree and masters degrees from SU from 03'-09'. I had to leave the hill for some personal reasons, (see Chucks thread) but I'm currently working towards a PhD.

Right now, I'm in my first year of a PhD program at UMass. Here's the program link for anyone that's interested: http://www.umass.edu/sje/ I'm looking to leave because the PhD program I am in at UMass is undergoing INCREDIBLE turmoil and transition. We have ONE faculty member under contract for next year, and are hiring two more for a total of 3. SU's is much more established and I feel would help me feel supported on the way to getting a PhD that I haven't yet felt since I've arrived at UMass.

In contrast, I find UMass the school itself to be cold, uninviting and HUGE. Big difference between a medium size private school and a large state school I know.

I've already been re-admitted back to SU, to complete the PhD in the area that I got my masters in: http://soeweb.syr.edu/academic/cultural_foundations_of_education/about_CFE.aspx

Basically I'd like to teach and become a college professor. I'm a bit wary about going back and getting all my degrees from SU, but as many on this board would say, SU while I was there was my identity. It was a home to me, and a place where I could grow as a person, make mistakes, but still be supported as a student and as a person.

I'm trying to decide...do I stay at a program at UMass that is perhaps dying (although could be back on the upswing)...or do I go back to a place where I know I've been supported and successful?

I'd love to hear people's thoughts about this...feel free to weigh in!

Last edited: