Greetings from Buffalo... | Syracusefan.com

Greetings from Buffalo...

cto

Administrator
All the employees at the team hotel are wearing "zebra" shirts. That is literally the only indication (subtle, for sure) I've seen suggesting there is a basketball tourney in town. There were none of the usual "welcome" signs at the hotel or the airport. When I asked my cab driver whether there was much excitement in town about the basketball tournament, he replied: "What basketball tournament? I don't know about any basketball tournament."

I've been attending NCAA games for more than 25 years.....in cities ranging from Worcester to NYC. Never have I seen such an apparent lack of interest.

Reminds me of being in Buffalo back in the late 70s and turning on NBC to watch the Louie and Bouie Show in some big ECAC tilt. Problem was they weren't showing the game and had Curling on instead. Buffalo is not exactly a hotbed of college hoops.

All the employees at the team hotel are wearing "zebra" shirts. That is literally the only indication (subtle, for sure) I've seen suggesting there is a basketball tourney in town. There were none of the usual "welcome" signs at the hotel or the airport. When I asked my cab driver whether there was much excitement in town about the basketball tournament, he replied: "What basketball tournament? I don't know about any basketball tournament."

I've been attending NCAA games for more than 25 years...in cities ranging from Worcester to NYC. Never have I seen such an apparent lack of interest.

The city has really taken a hit from Canisius, Niagara and UB being left out of the tournament ;)

Reminds me of being in Buffalo back in the late 70s and turning on NBC to watch the Louie and Bouie Show in some big ECAC tilt. Problem was they weren't showing the game and had Curling on instead. Buffalo is not exactly a hotbed of college hoops.