Let's talk Women's Basketball History | Syracusefan.com

Let's talk Women's Basketball History

KBOrange23

Walk On
I fell in love with the sport of basketball when I was in the fifth grade, courtesy of the SU men's basketball team. The year was 1975, and the squad went to the program's first Final Four. I started playing basketball and begged my parents to buy me every book and magazine I saw on basketball. I wanted to know its history. My father bought me the Sports Illustrated magazine that covered that final four.

That magazine also contained coverage of the women's national championship. I was intrigued. I began to read the article and I became fascinated. After reading it I was psyched! I thought it was SO COOL that women played basketball. Delta State won the title, defeating Immaculata College which ended Immaculata's three year reign as champion. At that time it didn't dawn on me that the NCAA wasn't governing women's sports. An organization called the AIAW, the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, conducted the women's tournament. Delta State's star player, Lusia (pronounced "Lucy") Harris was voted MVP of the tournament.