Score error--could have affected the outcome

longtimefan

All American
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
4,639
Likes
3,914
#1
Don't know if this has been mentioned elsewhere--

Check the tape from the middle of the first half. 7:38 to play. McClung hits a jump shot from the right wing. He has one foot on the line, and one foot inside it. Two officials indicate a 2-point goal, but 3 points are added to the GTown total, from 17 to 20.

Glad we didn't lose by one.
 

CusefanATL

2018 Iggy Post Season Record NCAA Winner
Joined
Aug 30, 2011
Messages
9,555
Likes
9,634
#2
holy ... thats the 2nd mistake this year. The Marek 3 they called a 2 against uconn where he was a full foot behind the line too.

Cant say i've ever seen it once actually stay incorrect - now its twice in 1 season to the same team?!?
 

tbonezone

Living Legend
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
10,187
Likes
9,257
#6
if the call was reviewed it probably was correct. they look at the same angles we do. many times.
 

Digger

2nd String
Joined
Dec 7, 2013
Messages
580
Likes
2,005
#8
Obviously, not as clear as I thought. But the officials said "2" in real time, and I don't see enough there to change their call.
The officials didn't indicate 2 points in real time. They both immediately gave the "mark for review" motion to the scorers. When that happens there is essentially no call on the play and whatever they see on replay is what they go with.
 

pfister1

All American
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
6,501
Likes
9,332
#9
They clearly had a difficult time with the review. Seemed to go on forever. When they came out of the huddle I sear to god, the one official looked like he gesture that suggested they couldn’t tell.

I assumed it was called a three and they didn’t have a view that would allow them to say it shouldn’t have been a three.
 

longtimefan

All American
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
4,639
Likes
3,914
#10
The officials didn't indicate 2 points in real time. They both immediately gave the "mark for review" motion to the scorers. When that happens there is essentially no call on the play and whatever they see on replay is what they go with.
I was sure that the official in the corner near the SU bench held up 2 fingers to the scorer's table.

What is the "mark for review" motion?
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
1,473
Likes
2,218
#14
Okay.
There were 2 officials in the frame, and neither of them held up "Touchdown" for a 3-point goal.
They can signal either and also indicate they’re going to review it they did review it and all three of them decided it was a three as it was
 

Cowtown

Resident Frostback Interface
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
27,883
Likes
34,916
#16
So, lemme see if I got this. Refs made a call that looked pretty close, either way. Went to the review, and it was decided the refs got it right. How about that! :)
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
1,473
Likes
2,218
#18
So, lemme see if I got this. Refs made a call that looked pretty close, either way. Went to the review, and it was decided the refs got it right. How about that! :)
No as it says in the thread above it was ruled a two live but it was also indicated they would review it. They reviewed it and gave a three which means it’s a three
 

Orangezoo

Hall of Fame
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
9,828
Likes
11,359
#19
Strongly disagree
I rewatched it again today. It was a 2. Not saying it was not close but when he completes setting his feet the tip of his shoe is on the line. Blowing it up on a 65 inch screen helps to see it.
 

longtimefan

All American
Joined
Aug 25, 2011
Messages
4,639
Likes
3,914
#21
Held up two fingers and swirled them around
I rewatched the sequence. The outside official, nearest the camera, did in fact swirl his fingers. The baseline official near the SU bench put out 2 fingers, but pointed them down toward the court, indicating a 2-point goal.
The third official was not in the frame. So we have one voting for a 2, one not sure. And as close as it was, they still went with 3.

As I originally said, glad we didn't lose by one.
 


Top Bottom