Team Banquet Awards |

Team Banquet Awards


The Mayor of Dewitt
Aug 15, 2011

The Syracuse football team handed out its annual awards on Sunday night at the team banquet.

The annual team banquet was at Drumlins Country Club and honored departing 'Cuse seniors and managers and celebrated a return to the Pinstripe Bowl before presenting the awards.

Dakota Davis was named the Joseph Alexander Award winner, which is presented for excellence in football, scholarship and citizenship. Davis enters the bowl game with over 50 collegiate games played and 36 starts on the Orange offensive line.

Caleb Okechukwu took home the Tim Green Award, which is presented to the team's most outstanding defensive lineman. He led the team with seven sacks this season. He also added 10 tackles for loss and started every game this season.

Devaughn Cooper earned the Thomas S. Pirro Award for character and coachability. Cooper, the first known player in FBS history to catch a pass in seven-straight seasons, had his best statistical year ever for the Orange this year. He was the team's second leading receiver with 376 yards and hauled in 29 catches.

The Duffy Daugherty Award is presented annually to 'the player's player and coach's coach,' and this year went to defensive back Eric Coley. A sixth-year player who was a versatile member of the Orange's secondary and key special teamer, Coley played in 42 games and amassed nearly 100 tackles in his career.

To no surprise, the Joe Szombathy Special Teams Award went to the most accurate kicker in Syracuse history. Andre Szmyt graduates as the fourth-highest scoring player in ACC history, most accurate kicker and highest scoring player in program history.

Another obvious selection, record setting running back Sean Tucker earned the Mark Hoffman Award as the team's most outstanding back. Tucker is now third on the program's all-time rushing list, and became the first player in program history to post back-to-back seasons with 1,000+ rushing yards and 250+ receiving yards.

Chris Elmore, who had each of the last two seasons cut short due to injury, was presented with the Jim DaRin Award. Established in 2018, the award goes to a player who displays extraordinary courage in overcoming significant obstacles, injury, illness, or personal tragedy

Aaron Bolinsky was awarded the Ray Martino Award for loyalty, perseverance and enthusiasm. A staple on the 'Cuse kicking units in his time with the Orange, he snapped for three different All-American specialists, before being named a captain this season.

The most improved player awards went to players who played big roles in their first year as starters. Oronde Gadsden II is the Bill Maxwell Award as the offense's most improved player. He led all tight ends nationally in receiving yards this season and was a First Team All-ACC selection. Kevon Darton, who went from a walk on to starting defensive tackle this year, earned the Ted Dailey Award as the defense's most improved player.

Star defensive back Garrett Williams earned the Pat Miller Award, which is given to 'the total package' student-athlete and honors an outstanding athlete, student and citizen, who is a loyal and dedicated teammate, excels in the classroom and is a selfless contributor in his community. Williams, a team captain and All-ACC selection despite playing in just seven games due to injury, is one of the top corners in the nation. He led the ACC in 2020 and 2021 in pass breakups and had three interceptions in the first half of the season this year.

Matthew Bergeron earned the Ben Schwartzwalder award as an exemplary football player whose leadership skills and on-field production embody the hard-nosed approach of the program. Bergeron – a second team All-ACC honoree – was a team captain this year and is set to participate in the Senior Bowl this winter.

Mikel Jones was awarded the Coach Mac Award, which is given to the player who represents the football program and University with class, professionalism, passion, and intensity, and whose effort on the field have been an inspiration to those around him. Jones, an obvious choice for the award, was a third-team All-ACC selection and Butkus Award Semifinalist, in addition to being the captain and the heart of The Mob.

The Bill Horr Most Valuable Player Award went to quarterback Garrett Shrader. He was second in the ACC in completion percentage this season and finished fourth in the ACC in passing efficiency. The Orange air attack took great strides forward with Shrader under center this season. He was responsible for 146 points, which was sixth in the ACC.


Living Legend
Aug 14, 2011
Years ago this banquet was open to Ernie Davis boosters. Now, it’s basically family and high level boosters.

Forum statistics

Latest member

Online statistics

Members online
Guests online
Total visitors

Top Bottom