Those two kids Marrone passed on | Page 4 | Syracusefan.com

Those two kids Marrone passed on

wfschrec said:
Well either that or it wasn't handled the same as it was under GRob. When I was a student there a lot of players did really bad things and it was swept under the rug when it could be controlled ... maybe Marrone didn't want to consistently bail kids out of tough spots and finally let them feel the heat. I was on M-Street when a former linebacker launched someone through a pizza shop window and that whole thing was buried, very little was done to said player.

I remember the story when Coleman tossed Johnston on the hood of a car.

I remember the story when Coleman tossed Johnston on the hood of a car.

No it wasn't Coleman ... this happened while I was there and I won't name the athlete here, it was during the coach P era.

Marrone and the rest of the OL had a reserved booth at Sutters every night, and they probably had their own private keg hidden under the table. :D

Parker Canty for sure. Chestnut, we forget about him. Middleton for sure. Probably Mele. Cervino might have offered some special teams help.

Mele and Middleton were successful at the 1AA's they transferred to, so at a minimum had they had their heads on straight they would have helped with depth, not going to argue that. Whether they would have had their heads on straight here is a different argument altogether. I'd throw Brandon Gilbeaux, Nick Speller, Dan Sheeran and Zary Stewart on this list as well. Problem is, with all of these guys, there's no guarantee they would have been successful here even if we had a different Head Coach.

Cantey? He had two years of eligibility left when he left SU, did he ever even play anywhere else? To have 2 years of eligibility left and not even play at the 1AA level is pretty telling, doesn't sound like he had the drive.