To the SU students and recent grads | Syracusefan.com

To the SU students and recent grads

bballbeadle

Woman of a certain age
Why do you think the students are not coming to the games? I am especially curious about the expense of the tickets. I have heard that the school does NOT give the students a break, price-wise. (We already know they shafted them with the seats!) If it's the discouraging ticket prices, it seems the administration could be pressured to do something about that. I would suggest a public shaming. But perhaps it's something other than money.

Please, enlighten us! We await your responses with bated breaths (and some with beer breaths).

Whatever the reason, it is a pathetic display and has been all year.

They are spoiled I think. We have been so good for four years, they really haven't been able to get out to the lesser games especially. I graduated in 2007. From 05 to 08 we were extremely average and the students always showed up. It is almost like when we are expected to win they don't feel like they need to be there anymore.

Hard for me to relate, since I had the package season tickets for basketball and football, but I'll add my two cents.

Night classes draw some students away from mid-week games. That's not very big, but it's something. There's also other events that occur on campus; things like greek events and stuff.

Sometimes after a long day of work/class, students would simply just rather watch it on TV in their warm dorm/apartment.

If I understand correctly, big east games are 26$ for students. Might not seem like a lot but to the average, casual SU student/fan, you pick and choose your games. 26$ is a few weekends of drinking if you plan accordingly.

And yes, I think SU does a horrible job at making it easy for students to attend the games.