My 4444th post: off-season thoughts (long) | Syracusefan.com

My 4444th post: off-season thoughts (long)

iommi

Living Legend
I noticed that this is going to be post #4444 for me, so instead of wasting that special # on some random post or response, I thought I'd give some off-season thoughts and my expectations for the coming season. Hopefully, this will spark some discourse on the board during what has been a slow time lately.

Before I get started on that, I wanted to type a brief note of thanks to everyone who makes this board special. You know who you are. Rather than omitting someone, I'd rather keep my thanks generic, but I especially want to thank the mods and our regular posters. I've been posting on some version of this board since the 2001-2002 season and many of the same posters still grace us with their presence. It's been a lot of fun. I tend to be a very emotional guy, and I am very passionate about the sports I follow, but in particular SU hoops and football; and this board (and the previous versions) has been a tremendous outlet for me. So thanks to everyone who makes this place great.

Now, onto my off-season thoughts and a look ahead to 2014-2015 and the future.

This off-season, SU has solidified their future, stockpiling tremendous talent with their 2015 class. I love the scoring punch that all of our '15 recruits bring to the table. I live in NJ, so I have followed Malachi Richardson and Moustapha Diagne very closely.

Malachi has been given a ton of accolades for his pure shooting stroke, and rightfully so. That being said, I think people are underestimating his athletic ability and all-around game. He's working diligently on all aspects of his game, particularly his handle and ability to score in mid-range and off the bounce. This kid is also a stone cold assassin in crunch time. He needs to put on more than a few pounds but this kid can be special. Correction: Malachi WILL BE special.