You Want To Keep The Stars in College? | Page 2 | Syracusefan.com

You Want To Keep The Stars in College?

I wouldn't be worried about the zone too much longer. I think Hoppy will change a few things when he takes over. You might see a combination of defenses & hybrids.

The smart coaches know how to adjust to the times, & I am sure Hoppy knows what he must do if he wants the best players. JB knows too, & don't think he won't make the necessary changes if need be...

I'm open to these new ideas, that is what America used to be about. I like Mantonio's mention of things being more incentive driven than punishment driven as well, which seems to bring out the best in people for the right reasons.

As for the zone, I'm not an expert on how recruits would feel about it. What I do know is, if you are the #1 school for something year in and year out, it sets you apart in the minds of people and I think that would be helpful in getting some recruits at least. With all the money networks and apparel companies make from college sports(in other words from the work of the athletes), it wouldn't bother me to see them paid. It also wouldn't bother me to see some of it spread around to lower tuition costs or provide a lot more scholarships for regular students. In a time when money is tight, it seems this mega stream could be put to better use than what it currently is. That's my opinion, anyhow.

I understand all the misgivings, but we have to come up with new ideas, or it will continue to be like this. I think it is better to give more incentives than punishments, because, after all, this is America.

I think the NBA would prefer a system that closely resembles the farm clubs, & that is what College basketball has become at the major level.

A good partnership between the NCAA & NBA would be better for the fans of college & pro sports.