Capital Classic All-Star game in DC (Goodine/Girard) | Syracusefan.com

Capital Classic All-Star game in DC (Goodine/Girard)

billsin01

All American
So I was there -- met one other fan, not sure if they're on here or not. Also met Girard's mom who seemed really nice.

My observations:

First, just a couple general observations and a disclaimer. The disclaimer is this -- I think both Goodine and Girard are going to be nice players for us. I'm going to critique their games but the kids are high schoolers in an all-star game and I'm not a professional talent evaluator, so obviously this stuff should be consumed with a few grains of salt and the criticisms shouldn't be interpreted as massive knocks on the kids.

Second, it was an odd game -- felt like the DC team had played together and had some solid coaching ahead of time. Looked like the US team had met about 5 minutes prior to game time. that makes a difference. Thought the DC team also played much harder as well, for what it's worth (and they wound up winning by 30+).

On to the players:

Girard (won MVP with 17 points, 3 rebs, 4 assists for US)
The positives

Thought he played pretty well for the most part. Kid's clearly a shooter with unlimited range and a quick, compact release (not a revelation) and he looked pretty comfortable trying to make plays with the ball. I'd say he's beyond Buddy in this department and headed more toward GMac territory (maybe not as a frosh) as Janner pointed out above. He also passed the ball pretty well and looked to push the ball pretty frequently as well -- both of which are big needs for this team. The other thing hard to miss is that he has a little swag -- not the least bit intimidated nor is he shy about trying to make plays. You can tell he believes he's a stud, and that's a good thing as well. Might frustrate some folks with shot selection or turnovers at times, but I like that attitude.

The negatives