'Cuse vs. Pitt from March, 1988 | Syracusefan.com

'Cuse vs. Pitt from March, 1988

OttosBestFriend

2nd String
Last night was up late doing work and decided to check what my DVR had recorded over the holidays...

Saw that it recorded a "Big East Classic" from 1988 with Pitt visiting 'Cuse on the final day of the regular season with the BE title on the line.

Watched the game and had several observations compared to 25 years in the future...

1. The Dome was MUCH louder throughout the game. Yes, there were 32,492 people there, but they were chanting throughout. Haven't heard our crowd that excited for a full two hours since many of the Big Monday games when I was a student from '89-'93. They were also on their feet, A LOT. Apparently the "sit people down" memo hadn't gone out to ushers just yet.

2. Sherman was greased lightning on the floor. Comparing his speed to that of MCW is night and day.

3. Rony Seikaly was an absolute force. Derrick Coleman was equally strong on the inside. We haven't had a down low duo that dynamic since. Made me wish Fab had stayed one more year.

4. The only player on the 2013 roster that starts on that 1987-88 team is Brandon Triche and, MAYBE CJ Fair gets the nod over Stevie Thompson because of his size, but I'm not so sure. Though Triche over Matt Roe I'm certain of. Though 2013's bench is WAY deeper. In 1988, we had no one coming off the bench like Southerland, Keita, or Grant. Though I wonder what Keith Hughes could've brought to the table had he been given a chance. Off the bench, Duncan appeared to be better than Cooney, but that was it... 2013 bench was better overall.

5. Free throw shooting by 'Cuse was AWFUL that season, but they actually had a pretty good effort that night. Though what gets me is Boeheim has had 25 years to rectify this and yet, free throws are still our Kryptonite.