interesting article on athletes reading levels | Syracusefan.com

interesting article on athletes reading levels

If they can't read above an eighth grade level then how are these guys suppose to pass a college class... I'm no expert, but that seems like a recipe for failure for the player after sports.

On a positive note, we are very fortunate to have a team full of players with good heads on their shoulders.

Best comment, one I completely agree with by the way:

Functionally illiterate individuals SHOULD NOT be admitted to universities. It's simple.

It would surprise me if any big-time athletic program came out looking much better if subject to the same analysis. Anyone inclined to feel superior should remember that Fab Melo spent four semesters at Syracuse just a couple years ago.

I've reached a point with college sports where I just accept that it's essentially entirely corrupt. Some parts might be a little better, some parts might be a little worse but on the whole it's ugly and exploitative if you peel back even the first layer. I don't think there's a solution to this - there's no way to actually reform college sports, and I don't think most participants would be better off if college sports just disappeared. So we all enjoy it and tacitly agree not to look to probe too hard.

Love how the NCAA puts all the responsibility on the schools-what is the point of their existence? Also like the comment that athletes only try for a high enough score for eligibility. Amazing how they are able to predict just what they need to be eligible...and the sliding scale for eligibility must lead to grade inflation at the HS level.

Let's just stop the charade and let those who want to get an education while playing their sport do so, while not forcing the others to pretend to be students.

Imagine what must get spent on tutoring at these big-time schools...