Best Center to Anchor the 2/3 Zone Defensively | Syracusefan.com

Best Center to Anchor the 2/3 Zone Defensively

walsh2012

Starter
For me this will always be Fab Melo. I was an undergrad at the same time he was, and remember telling everyone I could see that I thought he would be Big East DPOY after losing some baby fat over the offseason.

I saw him in Chuck’s and after 10-15 pops shoulder tapped him to say “I think you’re going to win BE DPOY this year.”

He smiled so big and told me how much he appreciated the confidence. He leaned into my ear and said how nice it was to have a fan show confidence in him as he was taking a lot of at the time - between his frosh and soph year.

i’ve been wrong about our guys many times but i was very firm about Fab being an all tome elite tier zone center.

he was a very kind soul and wanted to win so bad. If he plays the 2012 tournament we win the title.

he will always be the best defensive zone center to me. I cried when he passed. Such a kind spirit who loved love and loved basketball.

would love the boomers here to discuss who may have been as goodin the middle of the zone defensivly.

Not a Boomer, but the answer you’re looking for is:

Etan Thomas

TWICE was Big East DPOY.
Syracuse season & career blocked shot record holder.

Fab’s Soph year he blocked 88 shots.
Etan had 138 as a Soph, then 131, & 107 as a Sr.

The thing Fab was the GOAT at (other than pitchers in Chucks) was drawing charges.
I don’t think I’ve ever seen a 7-footer who was so adept at that.

As exciting as a great SWAT! is, you don’t always get the ball because it can go out of bounds (Etan sometimes would send 1 or 2 into the seats to intimidate opponents), or go back to the other team.
A charge is 100% change of possession, AND a foul on the opponent. HUGELY impactful if you can do that, and also be an elite rim protector

It’s not an official stat (because - FFF Duke!) but if it was, between blocks & charges, Fab was THE MAN.

R.I.P. “Big Bastard”