Down to #7 in the AP Poll | Syracusefan.com

Down to #7 in the AP Poll

Frozen said:
The polls mean as much right now as...well, I'm not too good with analogies. But the polls are not so meaningful right now is what I'm getting at.
me neither...people that speak in analogies and metaphor always amaze me. Like scientists

I guess our 16 point head-to-head win over Nova while having the same number of loses means nothing.

The polls are really a "what have you done lately?" kind of thing. A snapshot of the college basketball landscape the last week or two. Luckily they mean nothing to the selection committee.

Kansas is ranked 9 and Lunardi has them as a 1 seed. I know rankings have nothing to do with seeding, but man thats crazy. I still think we deserve to be ranked ahead of Nova and Duke, but yeah i know rankings mean nothing.

I guess our 16 point head-to-head win over Nova while having the same number of loses means nothing.
Or maybe it's the fact that win against Nova was a long time ago now, and SU has lost 3 of their last 4 games, while Nova hasn't.

You can't look at the polls in a vacuum.

Not surprised at 7 but I find it curious that Michigan State got bumped up earlier based on injuries and potential and there was no love for us...

Or maybe it's the fact that win against Nova was a long time ago now, and SU has lost 3 of their last 4 games, while Nova hasn't.

You can't look at the polls in a vacuum.
I get that. Some people think the poll should only reflect the last 2 weeks play...and some don't.