So...Why Didn't SU Recruit Nanticoke? | Syracusefan.com

So...Why Didn't SU Recruit Nanticoke?

I thought his name was Nanny Goat. he certainly spoiled our fun.

Maybe they did and he wasn't interested? Anybody know?

Fields? NY guy.
I'm no expert but it has to do with the Thompsons. The pipeline has dried up. Desko non grata on the Rez. Not sure if that is 100% totally true but told to me by someone who grew up on the Rez.

We did recruit him.

He didn't want to come here.

SU has a former player on the staff at IMG in Florida.

This SU did recruit him he wanted to follow in the Thompsons footsteps. Fields wasn't recruited by any high end teams other then Albany

i remember hearing something about grades but albany is no cake walk. also heard desko didn't want them freewheeling out of his system.
regardless the rumors not getting the thompson twins on campus may turn out to be the biggest blunder in D1 lax recruiting history.
a mistake the magnitude of which we are still feeling the ripples and it certainly boomeranged back into the temple today.

Last edited:
Had nothing to do with grades. Syracuse did recruit him and he had nothing but good things to say about Desko. Albany has a half dozen other Native American kids on the team...including Chaunce Hill whom I believe is his cousin. Marr goes out of his way to make the native kids feel comfortable. I don't happen to believe that Marr is a genius when it comes to Xs and Os, but the guy is a hell of a recruiter and has an eye for raw talent. How many other D1 coaches road tripped out to Standing Rock? Pure genius.

I'm more concerned with the status of Austin Staats - now that kid is a rare talent. Everyone assumes he is coming to Syracuse if he plays in college, so why hasn't he committed?